冰岛环游11天北极光摄影团

冰岛环游11天北极光摄影团
冰岛环游11天北极光摄影团
众神瀑布在冰冷的冬天变成了野兽。
冰岛环游11天北极光摄影团
什么都比不上到处都是北极光。
崎岖的山顶和蜿蜒的道路在狂野偏远的东部峡湾很常见。
没有什么地方比杰古沙龙冰河湖(Jökulsárlón)更适合观赏北极光了。
5.0
根据 10 位游客的评价

在这11天的冰岛冬季摄影团中,捕捉北极光和蓝冰洞等不可思议的自然现象。这次旅行将带您游览冰岛的环城公路,让您欣赏到壮观的风光和景点,同时从根本上提高您的摄影技巧。

在这11天里,几乎没有什么奇迹会被错过。您将会看到令人难以置信的杰古沙龙冰河湖(Jökulsárlón),多样化的米湖(Lake Mývatn)地区,遥远的东部峡湾(East Fjords),以及大量的冰川、火山、温泉区和瀑布。

此次摄影团由经验丰富的摄影向导带队,他们知道所有标志性的拍摄地点,以及许多不太为人所知的景点,在这些地方,您可以远离人群,捕捉到独特的冰岛自然风光。
他们还是北极光定位和拍摄方面的专家。

无论您是仅仅想提高摄影技巧的业余摄影师,还是想要获得成就的专业摄影师,这次旅行都将有不可估量的价值,无论是您将要学到的内容,还是您的摄影作品集将获得的扩充。

不要错过这次拍摄冰岛蓝冰洞和翩翩起舞的北极光的机会,还有许多其他景点。请选择日期查看是否可以预订。

日期:

2019年11月1日-11日

2020年1月12日-22日

2020年2月11日-21日


行程速览

旅行团信息
接团信息
  • 出发时间 : 灵活.

在您报名后,我们会把推荐的相机装备和必备清单发给您。请特别注意我们指的是绝对必备的用品。
出发地点
费用涵盖
  • 专业的摄影向导

  • 舒适的交通

  • 住宿:酒店和旅馆,房间带独立浴室。

  • 全部早餐,以及第1天和第10天的团体晚餐

  • 酒精、零食和饮料

  • 所有午餐,以及从第2天到第9天的晚餐

  • 机票


建议携带
  • 在您报名后,我们会把推荐的相机装备和必备清单发给您。


小贴士

我们是经冰岛旅游局授权的本地旅游运营商和旅行社。

我们提供小团体旅行团,每团人数上限为10-12人;以保证您能跟摄影向导有更多深入交流的机会、前往只适合小团体出游的特色地点进行拍摄。

我们所有的客人都可以从我们的一流摄影师那里免费获得价值超过1500美元的后期处理视频。

在我们的行程中,我们使用舒适的交通工具,将您安全地送至绝佳的摄影地点。

我们竭力为您安排冰岛最好的酒店。

我们的摄影团由一流的专业风光摄影师提供指导。

在整个行程中,我们为所有客人免费提供冰爪和橡胶靴。

在行程中,我们提供大量有益且易于学习的摄影和后期处理讲座。

我们的摄影向导将永远在现场提供帮助,确保客人拍摄到惊人的冰岛照片。



每日行程

行程日 1 - 到达冰岛


雷克雅未克市中心的哈尔帕音乐厅(Harpa Concert Hall)是一处值得一去的地方。


第一天,您将抵达凯夫拉维克国际机场,乘车前往位于雷克雅未克的酒店。到达酒店后,您可以休息到晚上,或者放下行李,利用这个机会去探索这个古怪而充满活力的首都城市。

当夜幕降临时,请到酒店大堂与向导和团友们见面,然后一起去享用晚餐。在用餐期间,大家可以相互了解,计划接下来的11天行程,最后回酒店休息。


行程日 2 - Vik i Myrdal


根据传说,雷尼斯德兰格玄武岩石柱群(Reynisdrangar)是被阳光石化的贪婪巨魔。


第二天,我们将开始前往第一个拍摄地点,那就是著名的南海岸(South Coast)。您可能通过到达前看过的冰岛照片中就能认出其中的许多景点,因为冰岛的美丽闻名于世。

首先,我们将参观塞里雅兰瀑布(Seljalandsfoss)。这个瀑布很狭窄,高60米,水流从凹形的悬崖上跌落下来,这意味着在瀑布后面有一个巨大的开放空间,您可以走到瀑布后面,从一个独特的角度进行拍摄。接下来,我们将参观斯科加瀑布( Skógafoss),这个瀑布的外形更为经典,瀑布的高度与前一个瀑布相似,但更强劲。如果太阳照射到瀑布上,还可以看到一两道彩虹。

我们将从各个可能的角度拍摄这些瀑布,然后前往Reynisfjara黑沙滩,在那里拍摄日落,并有希望能有机会拍摄北极光。

Reynisfjara黑沙滩是一个令人难忘的美丽景点,这里有着戏剧性的对比:黑色的沙滩使北大西洋汹涌澎湃的波浪闪闪发光,傍晚天空的颜色永远不会让人失望。然而,在这一地区,我们的主要研究对象是地质遗迹。站在水边,您将能够拍摄到雷尼斯德兰格玄武岩石柱群(Reynisdrangar),据说这些石柱是在太阳升起的光线下被石化的巨魔。

在附近,我们还将发现迷人的迪霍拉里(Dyrhólaey)岩石拱门和悬崖。我们会近距离观察它们,您会发现可拍摄的对象数不胜数,因为有六角形玄武岩柱等特征等待着您去拍摄。

在欣赏并捕捉完这些景点之后,我们有希望能够在极光下,在风景秀丽的维克镇(Vik)度过夜晚。


行程日 3 - 瓦特纳冰川国家公园(Vatnajökull)


数以百计的冰山散落在杰古沙龙冰河湖(Jökulsárlón)上。


第三天,我们将穿越南海岸的其他部分,到达冰岛美丽的东南部三个不可思议的拍摄地点。

第一个就是斯卡夫塔山(Skaftafell )自然保护区,这里景色优美,曾经是冰岛的国家公园,之后被并入了新建的瓦特纳冰川国家公园(Vatnajökull)。在这里,您可以找到使冰岛在国际上如此著名的特征:冰川舌和冰河湖、山脉和火山、熔岩场和森林、瀑布和河流系统。在接下来的几个小时里,我们将努力拍摄完所有这些特征。

接下来,我们将继续前往杰古沙龙冰河湖。这个壮观的湖泊里充满了巨大的冰山,有些比房子还高,它们在水中缓慢地旋转,最后到达海洋。然而,这些并不是您唯一的拍摄主题,湖中还有许多的海豹,野生动物摄影师会为会此而高兴。

为了拍摄日落,我们将到达附近的钻石沙滩,在那里,冰山被冲上海岸。蓝色的冰、黑色的沙子和白色的海浪之间形成对比,构成了伟大的画面,尤其是在五彩缤纷的日落或舞动的北极光下。

晚上,在杰古沙龙冰河湖地区过夜。


行程日 4 - 蓝冰洞


迷人的蓝冰洞之旅将伴随您的一生。


第四天,我们将参观一个毫无疑问将伴随您一生的地方:呈水晶蓝色的冰洞。这些蓝冰洞位于瓦特纳冰川下方,一年只有几个月的时间可以安全进入,即使是在特殊的情况下,进入其中的机会非同寻常。然而,在专业的摄影向导的带领下进入,会让它成为真正一生一次的人生经历。

在捕捉到蓝冰洞内的颜色和纹理之后,我们将继续拍摄东南部的遗址。我们要前往的地方将取决于天气条件,但是明天,我们将有一整天的时间去拍摄今天错过的地方。

例如,我们可以前往冰岛为数不多的辉长岩山脉之一Vestrahorn山,它有时被称为“蝙蝠侠山”,因为它有两座参差不齐的山峰。这里贫瘠、黑暗,令人难忘,特别是和周围的海洋和翻腾的不祥黑沙滩一起拍摄时。

我们也可以去一个不太为人所知的Fjallsárlón冰河湖,在那里,我们可以更容易地看到冰川的舌头在吞噬它,而且不会有游客挡住您的镜头。

然而,我们很可能会在杰古沙龙冰河湖和钻石沙滩结束这一天,希望能捕捉到北极光在它们上方翩翩起舞。


行程日 5 - 杰古沙龙冰河湖与Vestrahorn山


Vestrahorn山耸立在斯托克角半岛(Stokksnes)上,当被白雪覆盖的时候特别迷人。


第五天,我们将在东南部地区,拍摄您过去几天可能忽略的地方,或者拍摄在不同的光线或天气条件下看起来会有所不同的地方。这些地区包括斯卡夫塔山自然保护区、杰古沙龙冰河湖、Fjallsárlón冰河湖、钻石沙滩和Vestrahorn山。

摄影向导也将利用这一天的机会带您到瓦特纳冰川国家公园周围不太为人所知的景点,在那里您可以拍摄到覆盖在冬季色彩中的东南部,以及欧洲最大冰川瓦特纳冰川本身的精彩全景。

您将在东南部度过最后一个夜晚,但不是在再次寻找极光之前。


行程日 6 - 东部峡湾(Eastfjords)


如果幸运的话,您可能会在东部峡湾发现一些野生驯鹿。


第六天,我们将穿越人迹罕至的东部峡湾。这个地区即使在夏季也很偏远,但是在冬季,不太可能会在拍摄地点遇到人。

这些目的地将和峡湾本身一样多样化。有美丽的海景,巨大的壮观的山脉,瓦特纳冰川景观,拥有数百年历史的田园渔村。野生动物摄影师应该同时关注海岸和内陆,因为在每年的这个时候,海豹和驯鹿都是这个地区常见的景观。

当沿着峡湾向北前行时,我们会停很多站。最终,我们将到达目的地,冰岛东部最大的定居点:东部小镇埃伊尔斯塔济(Egilsstaðir)。

如果预测极光有可能会出现,我们将尝试从拉加尔湖(Lagarfljót)湖面或从冰岛最大的森林Hallormsstaðaskógur上方拍摄它们。如果停留在拉加尔湖,一定要看着水面,注意拉加尔湖水怪,这是传说中的一种蛇,其历史可以追溯到13世纪。


行程日 7 - 黛提瀑布(Dettifoss)


欧洲最雄伟的瀑布,冬季的黛提瀑布(Dettifoss)。


第7天,我们将前往冰岛的北部,前往广阔的米湖(Mývatn)地区。然而,在旅途中,有许多壮观的景点可以停下来拍照。我们将尝试到达欧洲最雄伟的瀑布黛提瀑布,在那里您可以尝试捕捉汹涌水流的纯粹力量。

在黛提瀑布附近,您可以在同一峡谷和河流中找到另外两个瀑布,它们没那么大,但也同样令人印象深刻:Selfoss和Hafragilsfoss。

之后,我们将及时到达米湖拍摄日落。在这里有很多地方可以参观和拍摄,但幸运的是,我们将有两天的时间去寻找它们。现在,我们只需要找到在傍晚条件下看起来最好的地方,在那里您将有拍摄极光的最好机会。


行程日 8 - 米湖地区


冬季,众神瀑布外观看起来像冻结的怪物。


第八天,我们将探索和拍摄米湖地区。因为米湖宁静和奇异的地质,玄武岩群从水中高高耸立,探索米湖本身也需要一些时间,这里是世界上少数几个能找到这种不寻常的苔藓球的地方之一。然而,这只是该地区的特点之一。

《权力的游戏》的粉丝们会为拍摄他们最喜欢的拍摄点而感到高兴。例如,曼斯·雷德的野人营就是在黑暗城堡(Dimmuborgir)的“熔岩堡垒”中拍摄的,那里的岩层非常大,看上去就像一座防御堡垒。

在米湖地区,您还可以在Námaskarð山拍摄沸腾的地热区域。还能看到更多的冰岛火山熔岩、pseudocraters和休眠的山峰。

米湖是一个不可思议的地方,在冬天可以看到冰岛的多样性。由于地处遥远的北方,这里的夜晚比冰岛其他地方都要长,也是拍摄北极光的理想之地。


行程日 9 - 众神瀑布(Godafoss)


Adleyarfoss瀑布离众神瀑布(Godafoss)不远,它以其迷人的地质而闻名。


第九天,我将更好地探索冰岛北部的其他地区。北部峡湾令人难以置信,城镇和村庄风景如画。Tröllskagi半岛里有冰岛最美的山脉,而Eyjafjorður的水域宽广,风景优美。

在这一天,我们还会参加钻石圈线路上的其他瀑布,即众神瀑布和Aldeyjarfoss瀑布。

众神瀑布不仅富有历史意义,而且风景同样迷人,冰岛标志着它从古老的北欧宗教转向基督教,当时的立法者将他的旧神神像扔进了汹涌的大海。而Aldeyjarfoss瀑布被迷人的地理环境所包围,当被冰雪封住时,则是迄今为止最美丽的瀑布。

晚上在米湖休息,在那拍摄日落。


行程日 10 - 返回雷克雅未克(Reykjavík)


犀牛岩(Hvitserkur)是一个有趣的动态摄影主题。


遗憾的是,第10天是此次冰岛冬季摄影团的最后一天。不过,我们仍然会有大量的新景点可以拍摄。

这一天,在返回雷克雅未克的途中,我们将驾着车完成整个环形公路,但是途中我们会停很多站。例如,您会找到奇特的犀牛岩(Hvitserkur),它矗立在远离海岸的浅水区,取决于拍摄的角度,它看起来像大象、巨怪或恐龙。

我们还将驾车穿过大量的农田,并能够拍到一些美丽的冰岛马的照片,这些上镜的生物非常友好,经常接近那些来看望它们的人,在它们互动的时候,我们可以拍摄到它们的嬉戏和好奇心。冰岛马是一种特别健壮的动物,不受冬季天气的影响。

当到达冰岛西部时,如果光线充足,您会看到附近的Hraunfossar瀑布,这个瀑布宁静、宽阔而温和,而Barnafoss瀑布则狂暴而猛烈。附近是欧洲流量最大的温泉德尔达图赫菲(Deildartunguhver),以及历史悠久的雷克霍特(Reykholt)和博尔加内斯(Borgarnes)镇。

您将在晚上到达雷克雅未克,和向导和团队一起吃最后一餐饭。毫无疑问,到这里,你们已经是好朋友了,共同学习了丰富的新技能,并可以向对方展示你们全新的摄影作品集。


行程日 11 - 离开


在冬天,Tjörninn湖完全结冰,一些当地人喜欢在上面滑冰。


第11天是您离开冰岛的日子,您将需要乘坐机场大巴或计程车前往凯夫拉维克机场。不过,如果在出发前还有一些时间,您可以利用自己新掌握的技能拍摄一些雷克雅未克的城市景观照片,进一步补充冰岛冬季的摄影作品集。


出发日期及带团向导

12-22 Jan 2020 - Guided by Mads Iversen And Siggi The Viking


免责声明

我们强烈建议您购买旅行和医疗保险。因为当您身处海外时,您的本地政府医疗保险及私人健康计划并不会为您提供保障。
由于冰岛的天气非常难以预测,因此实际的行程将取决于天气状况。同样地,蓝冰洞的参观也取决于良好的有利条件,事实上,蓝冰洞本身并非永久存在的。而北极光最有可能在9月和4月之间出现,我们不能保证它们会在某一天出现。


取消和退款政策

如果您要取消,但摄影团名额已满,我们会全额退还您所支付的团费,但要扣除300美元的服务费。如果您要取消,但摄影团名额未满,那么我们将在摄影团的全额费用基础上,根据以下时间表为您退款:
在摄影团开始日期前60天以上:全额退款,但要扣除300美元的服务费。
提前45天:退款75%
提前30天:退款50%
少于30天:不退款
退款将通过最初付款所使用的方法原路退回。
退款将在退款请求通过后72小时内办理。


视频


一手评价

平均分5.010 评价
中文
所有评分

此语言下目前无评价,

正在加载实时价格和空位情况
无信用卡费用
无额外预定费用

11 Day Northern Lights Photo Workshop around Iceland

24/7 customer support
Best price guarantee
Instant confirmation
Tour starts
After you signup, we’ll send you a recommended camera gear and packing list. Please pay special attention to things that we say are absolutely required.
Duration:
11 days
Languages:
English
Difficulty:
Easy
Available:
January
Minimum age:
18 years old

Capture unbelievable natural phenomena such as the Northern Lights and ice caves on this eleven-day Winter in Iceland photography workshop. This tour will take you around the country's Ring Road, exposing you to spectacular landscapes and features, all the while radically improving your shooting skills.

Few wonders will be missed over the eleven days. You will get to see the unbelievable Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon, the diverse Lake Mývatn region, the remote East Fjords, as well as a wealth of glaciers, volcanoes, hot-spring areas and waterfalls.

This tour is conducted by experienced, esteemed photo-guides, who know all of the iconic shooting locations as well as many lesser-known spots where you can capture unique images of the Icelandic nature far from any crowds. They are also experts in locating and shooting the aurora borealis.

Regardless of whether you are an amateur photographer merely seeking to improve your skills, or a professional photographer aspiring to greatness, this tour will be of immeasurable value, both in what you shall learn and in how much your portfolio will expand.

Do not miss your chance to photograph the crystal blue ice caves and dancing northern lights of Iceland, amongst many other sites. Check availability by choosing a date.

Included

Professional Photo Guide
Transportation in a comfortable vehicle.
Accommodation in hotels and guesthouses. Rooms with private bathrooms.
All breakfasts; Group dinner on day 1 and day 10.

Activities

Sight Seeing
Northern Lights
Photo Tours
Photo Workshop

Attractions

Reykjavík
Seljalandsfoss
Skógafoss
Reynisdrangar
Vatnajökull National Park
Vík
Vestrahorn

Daily itinerary

Day 1
Harpa Concert Hall in the Reykjavík's city centre is well worth a visit when one comes to Reykjavík.

Arrival

You will arrive at Keflavík International Airport on day one and take the fly bus or taxi to deliver you to your hotel in Reykjavík. Once here, you may want to relax until the evening, or else drop off your possessions and use the opportunity to explore the quirky, vibrant capital city.

When the evening swings around, however, you will return to your hotel lobby to meet your guides and group, before setting off for dinner. You will get to know each other and your plans for the next eleven days over a delicious meal, before retiring for the night.

Day 2
According to legend, the Reynisdrangar seastacks are meant to be greedy trolls petrified by the sunlight.

Vik i Myrdal

On day two, you will set out to your first shooting locations, which line the famous South Coast. Many of these you may recognise from images of Iceland you have seen before arrival, as their beauty is known around the world.

First, you will visit Seljalandsfoss waterfall. This narrow, 60-metre tall cascade tumbles from a concave cliff, meaning there is a vast open space behind it, allowing for some unique perspectives. Next up, Skógafoss is much more classic in its shape, but a similar height and much more powerful. If the sun hits this natural attraction you can expect to see a rainbow or two.

With these waterfalls shot from every available angle, you will head to the black sand beach, Reynisfjara for your sunset shoot, and hopefully your first opportunity to photograph the Northern Lights.

Reynisfjara is a haunting, beautiful place of dramatic contrasts; the dark sands make the crashing, violent waves of the North Atlantic gleam, and the colours of the sunset rarely disappoint. Your main subjects in the area, however, are sites of geological interest. Standing tall from the waters, you will be able to shoot the Reynisdrangar sea stacks, ominous structures said to be trolls petrified in the light of the rising sun.

Nearby, you will find the Dyrhólaey rock-arch and cliffs, the scale of which is mesmerising. Up close, you will find no shortage of subjects, as there are features such as hexagonal basalt columns waiting to be photographed.

After enjoying and capturing these sites, hopefully beneath the Northern Lights, you will retire for the night in the scenic village of Vík.

Day 3
Hundreds of icebergs litter Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon.

Vatnajokull National Park

On your third day, you will cross the rest of the South Coast to reach three incredible shooting destinations in the country’s beautiful south-east.

The first of these is Skaftafell Nature Reserve, considered so beautiful and important to the country’s heritage that it was once its own National Park before the greater Vatnajökull National Park enveloped it. Here, you can find a concentration of the features that make Iceland so internationally famous: glacier tongues and lagoons, mountains and volcanoes, lava-fields and forests, waterfalls and river systems. For several hours, you will work on capturing them all.

Following that, you will continue to the Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon. This spectacular lake is filled with great icebergs, some taller than houses, which slowly swirl through the waters before reaching the ocean. They will not be your only subjects, however; wildlife photographers will rejoice at how many seals call the lagoon home.

For your sunset shoot, you will reach the adjacent Diamond Beach, where the icebergs wash up on the shore. The contrasts between the blue ice, black sands, and white surf make for some great compositions, particularly beneath a colourful sunset or dancing aurora borealis.

You will spend the night in the Jökulsárlón area.

Day 4
A visit to a mesmerising blue ice cave is something that will stay with you for a lifetime

Ice Cave

On day four, you will visit a site that will no doubt stay with you for life: a crystal blue ice cave. These caves, under Vatnajökull glacier, are safely accessible for just a few months of the year, and even then only under special circumstances, so the opportunity to enter one is extraordinary. To enter one with a professional, helpful photoguide, however, makes the experience truly once in a lifetime.

After capturing the colouration, scale, and textures within the ice cave, you will continue shooting the sites of the south-east. Which you head to will depend on the conditions, but you will have all day in the area tomorrow to catch those you missed.

You may, for example, head to one of Iceland’s few gabbro mountains, Vestrahorn, sometimes nicknamed ‘the Batman Mountain’ in honour of its two, jagged peaks. This feature is barren, dark and haunting, particularly when captured with the churning surrounding ocean and ominous black sands.

You may also head to a lesser-known glacier lagoon, Fjallsárlón, where you can more easily see the glacier tongue feeding into it, and are less likely to have many tourists blocking your shots.

You are likely to finish your day, however, back at Jökulsárlón and the Diamond Beach, in the hope of capturing the Northern Lights dancing above them.

Day 5
Mount Vestrahorn stands tall over the Stokksnes peninsula and it is particularly charming when covered in snow.

Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon & Vestrahorn Mountain

Your fifth day will be spent better photographing any areas in the south-east that you may have neglected over the past few days, or that will be looking different under different lighting or weather conditions. These included Skaftafell, Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon, Fjallsárlón lagoon, the Diamond Beach and Mount Vestrahorn.

Your photoguides will also use the opportunities this day to take you to lesser-known spots around Vatnajökull National Park, where you can take excellent panoramas of the south-east wrapped in its winter colours, and of Vatnajökull itself, Europe’s largest glacier.

You will spend a final night in the south-east, but not before hunting for the auroras once more.

Day 6
If you're lucky, you might spot some wild reindeer during your time in the Eastfjords.

Eastfjords

On your sixth day, you will head through the little-travelled Eastfjords. This region is remote even in summer, yet in winter, you are unlikely to encounter even a single crowd at your shooting destinations.

These destinations will be as diverse as the fjords themselves. There are beautiful seascapes to be captured; enormous, dramatic mountains; views of Vatnajökull glacier; and sleepy, idyllic fishing villages that are steeped in hundreds of years of history. Wildlife photographers should keep their eyes both on the coast and inland, as seals and reindeer are both common sights in this region at this time of year.

You will make many stops as you wind up and down the fjords, travelling north. Eventually, you will reach your destination for the day, the largest settlement in East Iceland, Egilsstaðir.

If the aurora forecast seems promising, you will head out to try and shoot them, over the lake Lagarfljót or from Iceland’s largest forest, Hallormsstaðaskógur. If you stop at the former, keep your eyes on the surface of the water; sightings of the Lagarfljót wyrm, a legendary serpent records of which date back to the 13th Century, are not unheard of.

Day 7
Europe's most powerful waterfall, Dettifoss, in the winter.

Mývatn

You will head to Iceland’s North on day seven, to the great Lake Mývatn area. En route, however, there are many spectacular sites to stop at and photograph. Depending on the conditions, this may include waterfalls, geothermal areas and other spectacular winter sights.

You will reach Mývatn in time for your sunset shoot. There is a wealth of places to visit and capture while you are here, but thankfully, you will have the next two days to seek them out. For now, you will simply find the area that looks best in the evening conditions, where you will have the best shot of capturing the aurora.

Day 8
Goðafoss waterfall takes on the appearance a gnarled frozen monster in the wintertime.

Myvatn Region

Day eight will be better spent exploring and shooting the Lake Mývatn region. The lake itself warrants some time, due to its serenity and bizarre geology; basalt stacks rise tall from the water, and it is one of the few places in the world you can find the unusual moss-balls. It is but one feature in the area, however.

Game of Thrones fans will find delight at photographing many of their favourite shooting locations. Mance Rayder’s Wildling Camp, for example, is shot at the ‘lava fortress’ of Dimmuborgir, a place where the rock formations are so large they look like they were built as a defensive fort.

In the Lake Mývatn area, you will also be able to photograph the seething geothermal areas at Mount Námaskarð, and see more examples of Iceland’s volcanism across many of the lava landscapes, pseudocraters and dormant peaks.

Mývatn is an incredible place to witness Iceland in winter for its sheer diversity. Being far north, with longer nights than the rest of the country, it is also an ideal place for shooting the northern lights.

Day 9
Adleyarfoss waterfall is not far from Goðafoss waterfall and it is known for its fascinating geology.

Godafoss Waterfall

On your ninth day, you will better explore other regions of North Iceland. The northern fjords are incredible, the towns and villages incredibly picturesque. The mountains of the Tröllskagi Peninsula are some of the most beautiful and dramatic in the country, while the waters of Eyjafjörður are wide and scenic.

On this day, you will also get to visit the rest of the waterfalls on the Diamond Circle route, namely Goðafoss and Aldeyjarfoss.

The former is as fascinating historically as it is scenically beautiful; it was here that Iceland marked its departure from the old Norse religion for Christianity when the Lawspeaker of the time tossed his idols of the old gods into the raging waters. The latter is surrounded by fascinating geology, and by far at its most beautiful when surrounded by snow and caked in ice.

You will retire to Mývatn for a sunset shoot.

Day 10
The rock formation Hvítserkur makes for an interesting and dynamic photo subject.

Back to Reykjavík

Sadly, day ten is your final full day of this winter in Iceland photography workshop. Still, however, you will have a wealth of new sites to photograph.

The day will mainly consist of driving, completing the full circle of the ring-road as you make your way back to Reykjavík, but your stops will be numerous. You will, for example, locate the bizarre rock formation of Hvítserkur, which stands tall from shallow waters off the coast, and looks like an elephant, troll or dinosaur, depending on the angle from which you capture it.

You will also drive through plenty of farmland and be able to get some shots of the beautiful Icelandic horse; these photogenic creatures are very friendly, often approaching those who come to see them, and their playfulness and curiosity can be captured as they interact with one another. Icelandic horses are also particularly sturdy animals and are unbothered by the winter weather.

As you reach West Iceland, if there is still enough light, you will see sites such as the neighbouring waterfalls Hraunfossar, serene, wide and gentle, and Barnafoss, raging and violent. Nearby is the highest-flowing hot spring in Europe, Deildartunguhver, and the historic towns of Reykholt and Borgarnes.

You’ll reach Reykjavík at night, and have a final meal with your guides and group. No doubt, by this point, you will all be good friends with a wealth of new skills learnt together, and can reveal to each other your brand new portfolios.

Day 11
In the wintertime, the pond, Tjörninn freezes over completely and some locals like to go skating on it.

Departure

Day eleven is your departure day where  you can either take the fly bus or taxi to Keflavík airport for your journey home. If you have some time before you go, however, you can use your newly developed skills to get some urban landscape shots of Reykjavík, completing your new and extensive portfolio of Iceland in winter.

Good to know

- We are a local tour operator and travel agency authorised by the tourism board of Iceland.

- We offer small group tours with a maximum group size of 10-12. This way, you’ll get to know your photography guide and we can take you to shoot in unique places that aren’t suitable for larger groups

- All our guests get a free collection of post-processing videos from our award-winning photographers worth over $1,500

- On our tours we use comfortable vehicles to safely transport you to amazing locations.- We are using only the best hotels available in Iceland.

- Our photo tours and workshops are guided by award-winning professional landscape photographers.

- We provide crampons and rubber boots for free to all our guests throughout the tour.

- During the tour, we give highly informative and easy-to-follow photography and post-processing lectures.

- Our photo guides will always help you in the field to make sure you will bring home stunning photos of Iceland.

Disclaimer

We highly recommend that you get a travel and medical insurance. Your own domestic medical insurance and private health scheme will not cover you whilst you are overseas. The tour is always dependent on weather, as the Icelandic weather can indeed be highly unpredictable. Likewise, visits to ice caves are dependent on favorable conditions, and indeed the ice caves themselves are not permanent. When it comes to the Northern Lights, while they are most likely to be seen between September and April, there is no guarantee that they will appear on a given day.

Departure Schedule

12 - 22 Jan 2021

Terms of service

Video

Guides

Siggi the Viking

Siggi the Viking

English, Icelandic
View profile page

Siggi was born in Iceland and has spent most of his photography career in this paradise.During his time as a photographer, he early on found that his passion lies with photographing the beautiful landscapes and nightscapes of Iceland. One of his favorite activities is being out, chasing the northern lights and thinking of new ways to top his shots.

He has won multiple awards for his work, both locally and internationally, especially for his photos of the Aurora Borealis. Sigurdur has also written a book on the subject to aid everyone in getting the perfect shots of Lady Aurora and held nightscape photography workshops in Iceland since the beginning of 2012 with great success.

When the days get longer and the northern lights fade into the daylight, he turns his eyes towards the sun and the amazing midnight sun that Iceland has to offer with the golden hours that seem to stretch on forever.

Siggi was born in Iceland and has spent most of his photography career in this paradise.During his time as a photographer, he early on found that his passion lies with photographing the beautiful landscapes and nightscapes of Iceland. One of his favorite activities is being out, chasing the northern lights and thinking of new ways to top his shots.

He has won multiple awards for his work, both locally and internationally, especially for his photos of the Aurora Borealis. Sigurdur has also written a book on the subject to aid everyone in getting the perfect shots of Lady Aurora and held nightscape photography workshops in Iceland since the beginning of 2012 with great success.

When the days get longer and the northern lights fade into the daylight, he turns his eyes towards the sun and the amazing midnight sun that Iceland has to offer with the golden hours that seem to stretch on forever.

Verified reviews

Similar tours